Yarn along – Week 06 – It’s Carnival

Joining Ginny’s Yarn along again but with a dress. The reason why this week is less about knitting and more about sewing is easy: tomorrow starts the party part of Carnival in Düsseldorf and I gave myself a 30th birthday present: being a princess for Carnival for the very first time in my life.

Me in my costumeMy mum never made me a princess costume. I was a gipsy, a witch, even a ladybug and a toadstool and though I don’t know if I really expressed that as a child but I really wanted to be a princess one day. And now I thought is the perfect time to do that: it’s Carnival and my birthday in the same week so I’ll be a princess.princess-dressAnd as I make my costumes myself, this year I started a big project way back in autumn last year when I bought the blue taffeta and the buttons. I used a Simplicity pattern and then altered it to have puffed sleeves.

princess-dress-detailWorking with the golden galloon helped me to make it look well made even from the inside out (and this is something I usually love about costumes: they only need to look good from the outside and it doesn’t matter at all what they look like from the inside). And than I added some golden buttons with something like a coat of arms on it on the back and on the sleeves, making the loop from golden thread.

weather-outsideBut because the weather forecast already said that it would look that way (this is a picture from this morning), Carnival is quite a outdoor activity here in Düsseldorf and, because I didn’t read the pattern properly and made a mistake, the dress is very fitting and doesn’t allow for much to wear underneath, I had to make something to wear on top.

princess-capeI didn’t want to wear a normal coat on top. Looking all dressed up in the streets is as important as going inside and taking your coat of later. This is why I needed a cape. I got some cheap mint green cloths and some blue quilted lining that I actually doubled to achieve more warmth. I used the gold galloon again and the buttons.

princess-cape-detailAnd to give it a final royal winter touch I added white fake fur at the edges. Further more the cape is even reversible with buttons on the out and the inside. But now that I look outside I’m really wondering if instead of that golden tiara I wanted to wear I don’t better do with fake fur hat and maybe some gloves would be great too. Need to figure that out tonight because I will take my costume with me to work and go to party from there tomorrow.

What would you like to say?

