Yarn along 3 – Grmph…

After stating last week that I had three current projects and four hibernating ones AND wanted to join a Mystery KAL I thought I should finish something first before the KAL started on Monday. And so I did.Michaels-hatMichael’s hat is quite nice for a completly made up pattern, I think. He wanted the hat to be slouchy but I guess he isn’t used to wearing a slouchy hat quite yet. But the wool is so soft so I guess he’ll get used to it. Next I finished the Stockholm Cowl. It would have been nicer had it been a little wider. But when you are stashbusting like me and mixing different yarns and run out of one colour than this determines the width of your cowl. But I’m pretty fine with it. I can wrap it around my neck three times and then it is pretty thick and cosy too. The person who’ll et it eventually will love it for sure.the-carpetI also looked through my hibernating projects. I knit a hexipuff, something I haven’t done in months. And I packed a bag of short yarn left overs that could be turned into hexipuffs. Maybe some day I will even sew up some more of them and eventually this project will end up being a blanket. One day… Then I unpacked something that I fiercely started last January and after two or three weeks it went straight into hibernation: The carpet. Do you remember the carpet I started? Vaguely? So did I. I needed to search for it first because I had stored it away. Since I started I had bought far longer cables for my needles to I switched that first and then quickly knit up a hole skein of red. But I remember now why I stopped knitting that thing. It is quite exhausting with those super big needles and even now after I think three skeins the whole thing is already quite heavy. This means my poor wrists need to work a lot. I should get some wrist support bands or the like for the future. And I even knitted two rows on my lace shawl.

unravelling-the-sleeveThen I thought I could go back to my actual big project. By sunday night one sleeve was as good as done. I had tried it on several times so I should have taken the decision earlier but well, I didn’t. It was too tight. So I frogged two nights of work, about 100 rows. This was very depressing but I started new. About 30 rows later I checked it again and honestly, the way I increased and added stitches into the pattern just didn’t look good. And I want this sweater to be perfect (or at least the closest to perfect that I can manage). So last night I frogged it again. Now I’m nearly back to where I was last week but the sleeve is coming with me on my trip to Berlin the next two days and I guess even though I need to work a little on the train, I can spend at least one hour knitting on each trip so it will grow again.

Swatching-for-the-Follow-your-arrow-Mystery-KALLast but not least the KAL. I started it. I even swatched. But I don’t need too much of a mystery so I checked the spoiler pics from people who already started on Monday and chose the version I’m following for clue no.1 after that. And again I was a bit over excited. I had repeated the pattern several times before I realised I repeated the four rows I was suppossed to repeat three times only two times. More frogging. More grmph feelings… But now I’m on track again.

This, as you might have guessed, left little time for reading. So nothing new in this department. What about you? Linking up with Ginny and the Yarn along ladies as usual.

1 thought on “Yarn along 3 – Grmph…

What would you like to say?