Knitting & Crochet Blog Week IV – Day 7 – Looking forward

Knitting-and-Crochet-Blog-Week-2013

The last topic is an outlook on the rest of the year/for the next 12 month: One year from now, when the 5th Knitting & Crochet Blog Week rolls around, where do you hope your crafting will have taken you to? What new skills, projects and experiences do you hope you might have conquered or tried?

Well, I’ve been thinking long and hard on this and I think there are quite a few:

  • Stash busting: I want to get rid of at least some of my stash. This is highly possible as some yarn is already planned for the blanket and a dress. I think I will make a list, of what could be done with what. It would be great if, in the end, I had only 5kg of stashed yarn instead of 10kg.
  • Lace knitting: I knitted my first shawl some weeks ago. I want to knit something more complicated with the Lace yarn I bought. I’m not too sure if it will be a Echo Flower shawl or a Filigrano. What do you think?
  • Start with christmas knitting in summer: I want to knit christmas presents again and I try to start in summer so that I’m not stressed. I already started with my brothers sweater. Yes, he really wants one of them…
  • Winter Cowl or Shawl: I definitively want a warm cowl or scarf for winter. I’m not sure if I’d really make a cowl. They always look beautiful but they don’t really look practical and I need something to keep me snuggly warm when I ride my bike to work. A matching hat would be nice too and many matching gloves…?
  • Gift knitting: I want to knit at least one project from the magazine I got for my birthday and one from the lovely nostalgic book I got.

Lots to do, you see. Hope to share my work with you and see yours. What are your plans for the next 12 months?

10 thoughts on “Knitting & Crochet Blog Week IV – Day 7 – Looking forward

  1. I have yet to knit a shawl, but it will happen soon! Stash busting, ah I really need to do this! Good for you for starting early with your Christmas pressies, it always gets so busy towards the end, right? I always try and start early! And I love cowls! Don’t think they’re not practical, but I get your point! Happy Monday xxx

    • Ah the stash thing… I decided to make a list now of things I want to knit that can use up my stash. But the problem with some of the stash is: it is recycled wool. And I don’t know how much it is. Sure, I could weigh it and then hope that it is really enough for a sweater but what if not… Maybe my mum remembers what these big balls of wool used to be. Because if they’ve been a sweater before I surely can turn them into a sweater again.
      As for cowl, I just fear that as they are round that I can not tie them as tight as a normal scarf to protect my neck from whatever cold wind there could be while ride my bike…

  2. Ah, clever plan for Christmas!
    Shawls/cowls are actually nice to do, it’s quick, you can do new ones every year and gives last year’s to the charity shop – and one always has some form of stash to work with.

  3. I think you would find cowls very practical. They do not need the arranging of scarves. Shawls are wonderful and beautiful and stylish and, and….. Yes, I am a shawl fanatic! LOL. Good luck on your goals.

What would you like to say?

