Knitting & Crochet Blog Week IV – Day 6 – A tool to covet

Knitting-and-Crochet-Blog-Week-2013

Today’s taks is: Write about your favourite knitting or crochet (or spinning, etc) tool. It can either be a tool directly involved in your craft (knitting needles or crochet hook) or something that makes your craft more pleasurable – be it a special lamp, or stitch markers.

Well that is easy: I like wooden needles in general and especially the interchangeable Knit Pro needles. Why is that: well the sound of metal needles clicking always made me shutter and it does so even more nowadays when I hardly ever knit with them. Plus wooden needles don’t have to warm up to your touch, they always have a nice temperature. And the Knit Pro interchangeable needles are just practical. You don’t have to have needles of one size with different lengths of cord  between them, you just change the cord according to the project your are knitting. And when you have to change the needle size within a project, you just change the needles not the whole thing. You can also leave in the cord and knit the next part with just one set of needles because this series has also cord stoppers. You see, I’m totally in love with these needles. I can even come up with two more points why I love them even though these ones are not as important as the other ones: you are more likely not to be bothered by security when taking wooden needles on a plane then metal ones. Plus the Knit Pro needles are so pretty…

My-needlesSaying that I’m off to my pretty balcony. Though it is quite cold today, compared to the last days when it was near summerish, I need to do some things. And my to do list for the weekend lists quite a few other things, like doing the laundry, finally finish to sew my dress that I cut in autumn and planning my blog posts for May.

4 thoughts on “Knitting & Crochet Blog Week IV – Day 6 – A tool to covet

  1. I have Knit Pro and Knitter’s Pride and will never go back to fixed needles. I do have fixed in sizes that don’t come in IN version. But much prefer the IN to anything else.

  2. I have a few sets of small gauge wooden needles for socks. I like the way they feel in my hand but in the past my dogs have found them more “interesting” than metal needles so sadly I have taken to buying only metal needles.

What would you like to say?

