Knitting & Crochet Blog Week IV – Day 1 & 2 – The House Cup & Mascot Project

Knitting-and-Crochet-Blog-Week-2013Yeah, welcome to this year’s Knitting and Crochet Blog week. No. 4 already and my first one. This is the first assignment : “A bit like Harry Potter, but not quite, this year’s Knitting & Crochet Blog Week is split into 4 houses. Don your favourite knitted or crocheted hat and let it guide you to which house you will be in.”

Options were the House of Bee for the busy ones, the House of Manatee for the gentle and calm ones, the House of Monkey for the intellegent and funny ones and the House of 8602254927_bca960e097Peacock for the ones showing of a bit (for more information on all houses have a look here).

I love to listen to Harry Potter Audio books when knitting so this is exactly my question. And I didn’t have to argue with the hat into which house he had to sort me. It is definitively the House of Bee. Bees are busy and industrious, but can flit from one interesting project to the next as bright and shiny things capture their interest.” says the description and the same is true for me. I love to work on many projects and can’t stop browsing patterns on ravelry. I have so many ideas what I want to do. But I would like to add, I’m a hard worker too. So far in 2013 I have knitted and crocheted:

And I always have several projects going at the same time. At the moment these are:

And if that doesn’t convince you, just think of what the hexipuffs will be turned into: a beekeeper’s quilt. I am definitively a Bee!

UPDATE: I actually wanted to skip Day 2 topic: “Either think of or research a project that embodies your house, something Hexipuffsthat makes you think of the qualities of that house.” because I couldn’t think of a mascot project. I seemed to be really blind. I’m already working on it: the beekeeper’s quilt! The name, the shape, the idea that you need to keep yourself busy, plus it actually suits my House Qualities: Every little hexipuff is knit within a very short amount of time, leaving time for other things to do. And look at that hexipuff on the lower right corner. Doesn’t it look very bee like with it’s yellow stripes?

8 thoughts on “Knitting & Crochet Blog Week IV – Day 1 & 2 – The House Cup & Mascot Project

  1. I do love Hermione’s Everyday Socks. If it wasn’t so warm, I might be wearing them today 🙂

    Also, I think the Noble House of Bees has the most participants.

    • Thanks for stopping by! I guess the House of Bees doesn’t necessarily have to most participants overall, it’s just this blogger world here. Think of all the people that knit but don’t blog. There might be many monkeys, peacoks etc. I think it is just in the nature of a bee to do loads of stuff and blogging is one of it 🙂

  2. Well done so far for the year!
    Don’t you find that when keeping a mental list of want-to-do’s, the longer a project stays on the list,, the less likely you are to start it, as there so many newer ones…letting the older ideas fade into oblivion? That might be why there so many PHD’s lying around in my work room :-0

    • Thank you! I actually find that if something is on my want-to-do list for quite a while it has a good chance to be knit. I use my ravelry library in that way: Everything I like goes there first. And every now and then I review what I have there and I delete everything that is not very likely to be knit anyway. So things might be added to the lists but the things that stay are my real favourites and may someday be knitted…

    • Yes, I was writing this post and trying to explain why House of Bee was mine and then it hit me: Beekeeper’s Quilt! I stopped over at your blog too. Don’t be scared. You managed your first day, people here are all nice and btw I’m new too, so don’t worry 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by! I really liked the idea of blog week and thought I give it a try. I’m keeping myself busy this year. Last year I was lacking inspiration. This year I have discovered ravelry and can’t stop having ideas and knitting them. I guess this will be the year of knitsomeness…

What would you like to say?

