Yarn along – Week 39 – or what I’m knitting and reading at the moment

I actually wanted to show you some things I made so far this year but then I stumbled upon Ginny’s blog Small Things and her Yarn Along Post, asking other people what they are knitting and reading (check them out too, there are some cool things that other people are doing) this week so I thought I start with telling you what I’m doing this week and what I’m reading meanwhile.

First of all, I have to say, I love knitting. I have to admit it. I think I might be even addicted to knitting. At the moment I’m working on three things at the same time:

Sweater VestA sweater vest for my boyfriend made from a dark blue merino wool, polyamid mix, a simple model for which I finished the back yesterday and started with the front part. It shouldn’t take that long. I need about 1,5 weeks for the back. But I hope the whole thing fits. I have never knitted something for someone with another size than me before. If not, well than it is back from scratch, I guess.

Kniehigh Socks and some more woolKnee high thick socks from mustard coloured wool with little colourful pieces where I just finished the heel of the first one. I have anoter cool sock wool for another waiting as well.

My boyfriend's felted slippers and the new onesAnd as usual I do felted slippers (just finished this year’s new pair for my boyfriend, the brown ones on the left). The new ones are for a friend of mine who asked for a special form with a higher ankle part which I still have to figure out how to do them best.

More stuff for the next weeksAnd ignoring the fact that I already have wool to keep me going for quite some time, I bought new one for a sweater. I want the sweater to look a bit retro, 50s style so I guess stripes won’t work that well, but a argyle style could be an idea. But I will only start it, when I’ve either finished the sweater vest or the slippers and the socks. Hope I can finish the slippers and maybe even the socks at the weekend so I can start with the new sweater..And I complete forgot that I had ordered some more so I got a box with recotton today.

Storm of Swords & Lonely Planet Vienna EncounterI am reading “A Storm of Swords” the third book in the series of “A Song of Ice and Fire” by George R. R. Martin. I think the story is very exciting and everything, yet it streches and streches and streches and I fall asleep at night in bed after just one chapter so don’t get far.And I’m trying to figure out what to do in Vienna next week, so one of the small Lonely Planet guides is on my list as well.

8 thoughts on “Yarn along – Week 39 – or what I’m knitting and reading at the moment

    • Thanks! Recotton seems to be a German brand. But we have quite a few different companies offering textile leftovers as yarn and it works well for things like furniture or assessoires like bags. I also think about maybe getting some more and making a carpet… So many ideas, so few time…

What would you like to say?

