Where I’ve been: Barcelona.

I’ve lived in Barcelona and I loved it. But it’s been years (nearly 10 to be precise) and yes I went there afterwards again in 2006 and 2009 but it’s about time to go again. Therefore here my Barcelona highlights, as a guide for myself to check them out again soon:

  1. I love Gaudís buildings, even though they are usually full of tourists. But there are also many beautiful buildings from other times:
    • Gaudí’s Parc Guell is a beautiful retreat in the city and offers amazing views
    • Gaudì’s Casa Battlo looks beautiful from the outside
    • Gaudì’s Casa Mila is beautiful from the inside
    • La cathedral
    • Santa Maria del Mar
    • Barcelonata
    • L’Eixample
  2. They have great food that is, mostly, if you are willing to spend the money. Check out the food post about Barcelona.
  3. It’s beautiful to have a city with a beach and even though Barceloneses don’t like it that much, I always found it quite practical. But if you want nice bays or some not that crowed place, you have to go further out. Some kilometers north of Lloret de Mar (which itself is the nightmare of Spanish beaches) are some really nice bays.
  4. Want some culture? Get some culture! There are plenty of museums that I even wrote a whole post just about them.
What would you like to say?

